Big dreams

How Naruto affected my life

You ever start watching a show, get so into it, and can’t imagine what life would be without it anymore? It’s like being trapped and there’s no way out. I question if i’m even a fangirl because my love is so great for Naruto. It all started after playing the Naruto video game with my cousin. Video games usually start my interests in things, but that’s besides the point. The game was a fighting game, usually my favorite, and I couldn’t help but notice the amount of characters this game included. Because I enjoyed playing the game, I eventually decided to look more into it on Youtube.

 

Middle school nerd

I was in the sixth grade, my free days usually consisted of gaming. But one day after school, instead of picking up my controller, I grabbed my phone and went to Youtube. Whenever I am browsing on Youtube, I am usually watching music videos. Not that day, I was curious more on the show and gave it a try. I was hooked! I loved the first episode that I began binge watching. As the days passed, I became more and more interested. Then it happened, I created my own ninja characters. It seems silly, but I enjoyed myself. For every character, I would give them a distinct look and own personality. Since at the time I was on the first series, I drew characters around the same age group. They were young teenagers. By the end of my seventh grade year, I noticed that the design of the newer characters were different from my first ones. That’s when I decided to switch it up. I loved the characters I first started drawing. So I decided to recreate them and make them look better. Therefore I did just that. I was impressed with their before and after appearances. By my mid eighth grade year, I had around fifty or more different characters, and kept them all in my binder. I enjoyed talking about them to my mother, and sisters. And their compliments warmed my heart.

 

How do I feel about it

Life started changing for me after high school, to the point where I didn’t continue on with my characters. Thinking about it, people may look at me as a loser or may think that I’ve had no life with the time I spent drawing. But it was a hobby, and I remember one thing, I was happy. If anything, I realized that I became more miserable growing up. I do think that the idea of just drawing out characters and giving them a background history is a bit silly. But that was only because I never believed that they could’ve came to life. With my growing knowledge, my mindset is still changing. I still carry the binder with my previous work, I could recreate everyone if I make the time. And who knows, maybe in a few years, there could be more to it. I’m still young, I am still learning as I get older. It makes me happy even remembering that I took the time to draw as much as I did back then. I definitely see myself getting back to it.

