My improvement

Whenever I draw, I tend to draw people over anything else. That is why I always found out it quite difficult to draw the drawings given for me to copy. They were very abstract to me, and hard to recreate. Even so, for the first time I enjoyed the weekly drawings.

IMG_0273

My favorite drawing was the fabulous fox. I’m not the greatest when it comes to drawing animals, that is why I was surprised with how good this one came out. There was barely any erasing as well. By drawing this, I ended up admiring the beauty of this drawing.

Have I improved after doing several assigned drawings? Yes. Even though I’m not the best, I feel like I have better judgement than what I did before.

Illustration is useful

Graphic Design “the art or skill of combining text and pictures in advertisements, magazines, or books.” Various areas of art help form graphic design, but with how technology has developed nowadays, illustration doesn’t always pop into one’s head when referring to graphic design. As in for myself, I didn’t expect to have any assignments that required me to draw by hand during my Graphic design classes.

Every week, the students have to redraw an artwork that has been already created. At first, I didn’t like the idea because I saw no purpose in it. But my professors would always tell us that there was use in it, and they wanted our illustration skills to improve. But why always focus on our illustration skills, when there’s other things to learn?

Don’t get me wrong, I love drawing, and I am grateful that I learned more about Illustrator. Being good at illustration is very useful! There’s so much competition going on especially since businesses need a designer. The more skills you have, the more useful you are. And being good at illustrating only increases your chances of getting hired.